The Greatest Breakup Story Ever Told

By: creativespark

Jan 23 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Art

I rewrote the Ramayana last year as seven tiny mini-tales, for the Peranakan Museum here in Singapore. I didn’t actually read the entire 7 volumes (written in verse) to do it… who has?…I kind of cheated with the modern equivalent of Brody’s Notes (thankyou Google).

I did manage to get a cliff-hanger at the end of each chapter though, and it all looked fantastic mounted up on giant illuminated pillars in the museum.

I liked the design the museum did around the story, but I loooove these more, from Sanjay Patel. I’ve got his Hindu Gods book, and I haven’t seen this one in the shops yet, but it’s on my Santa list.

On a related topic, if you haven’t seen Nina Paley’s Sita Sings The Blues yet, it’s a magical way to spend 80 minutes. It’s available in full online and you can even download it.

