Our Art On Our Sleeve

By: creativespark

Feb 17 2011

Category: Art, Design, Singapore

T-shirts seem to have become the great democratiser. We all wear them and through them we say something. Mine always say “I have nothing to say to you”.

That makes them a great showcase for designers… an opportunity to put our design out there, and perhaps make a few bucks in the process.

I’m a big blaring advocate of Singapore design, which I think has moments of brilliance. It’s been a bumpy ride, but I really think a “Singapore style” is emerging. I’m especially a fan of the illustrators.

9fountains is a homegrown t-site, currently with limited edition wearable works by 15 Singapore-based artists, all priced at an affordable $35. They’re calling for entries, so expect more in the future. With any luck you’ll find one that says whatever it is you need your t to say.

